plowshare.conf(5) Configuration file for Plowshare


Plowshare (plowdown, plowup, plowdel, plowlist or plowprobe) uses a configuration file called plowshare.conf for its initial setup. This configuration file is searched for in the following places when plowshare is started:


Note: Usage of configuration file can be disabled using --no-plowsharerc command-line option. There is also --plowsharerc=FILE option to specify an alternate configuration file.


plowshare.conf file uses an INI-style format. It is composed of six sections which may be present in any order. Each section may contain lines of the form:

    token = value
    token = value
    token = value
    token = value
    token = value
    token = value
# this is a comment


  • Sections are unordered.
  • Blank lines or lines beginning with a hash character ('#') are treated as comments and ignored.
  • Whitespace before and after a token or value is ignored (although a value can contain whitespace within).
  • Double quoting value is optional. Use them to preserve leading and trailing whitespace.

Valid tokens are always lowercase. Names are long-option command-line arguments of plowshare. For example: temp-directory for plowdown. For modules options, tokens are prepended by module name and a slash character. For example: rapidgator/auth (short-option are also possible here).

For values, no backslash interpretation is made. "\t" is a regular string with two characters, it is not a tab character.

Options in general section prevail over Plow* section. Options given on the command line prevail over configuration file options.


### ### Plowshare configuration file ###

[General] interface = eth1 rapidshare/a = matt:4deadbeef rapidgator/a = "matt:4 dead beef "

[Plowdown] deathbycaptcha=matt:blablabla timeout=3600

[Plowup] max-retries=2 printf=Download URL: %u%nDelete URL: %d%n mirrorcreator/auth-free = foo:bar mirrorcreator/mediafire = yes

[Plowlist] verbose = 3


Plowshare was initially written by Arnau Sanchez. See the AUTHORS file for a list of some of the many other contributors.

Plowshare is (C) 2010-2014 The Plowshare Team